1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Upgrading a squier vintage modified jaguar special ss

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Artetmusic, Dec 3, 2017.

1. Artetmusic

Artetmusic

Sep 22, 2017
    Hello everyone,

I started playing the bass 2 month ago with a mustang pj and would also like to start playing on a fretless.
    I have just ordered a squier vintage modified jaguar special ss (candy red apple) that will be defretted by a luthier. I was thinking about getting La Bella nylon strings.

I would like to get your advices on several guitar bass parts please :

- Which pickups would be the best for this future fretless jaguar ? Would it be better to upgrade the PJ pickups already installed ?

- I would like to get a bridge cover but can't find one for this model. Any idea please ?

Please let me know if you have other advices :)

Starting playing the bass has been really wonderful. I am sure I will like the fretless :-D

Thank you in advance

2. RedJag

RedJag

Mar 2, 2016
    I wouldn’t make it fretless AND get nylon strings. I’d do one or the other. Nylon strings allow a fretted instrument to sound close to a fretless (Rotosound Trubass I’m looking at you). If you make it fretless, consider if you want to play flatwounds or rounds (such as with Primus and Jaco) and have the fingerboard finished accordingly (rounds will chew up a wood fingerboard, Jaco famously covered his in epoxy)

Keep the pickups stock until you’re familiar enough with the sound of the bass and can tell what you don’t like about them so you know what to shop for tone-wise.

buldog5151bass likes this.
  3. Artetmusic

Artetmusic

Sep 22, 2017
    Thank you for your answer RedJag !