Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Upgrading Marcus Miller Jazz Bass with Sadowsky Pre...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Cerpin Taxt, Jul 12, 2005.

1. Cerpin Taxt

Cerpin Taxt

Jun 12, 2005
    Is it worth it? If so, why?

2. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    As a new owner of a Marcus Miller Jazz, I must ask: what's wrong with what you got?

3. Cerpin Taxt

Cerpin Taxt

Jun 12, 2005
    Good question. To be honest, not a whole lot.

The reason I'm asking is that I've read in a couple of places that people commonly replace the Pre on this model. I've heard people say that the stock pre is too "noisy" and "hot". I can't really attest to that, since I'm not very experienced with different preamps. I will say that i rarely turn either of the volume knobs up all the way because, frankly, I prefer the it that way.

4. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Strange, I find the preamp to be nice and transparent, and subtle even when dialed in properly, for a little extra boost where I want it. I think it's great for that.

Here's where the proverbial "if everyone else jumps off a bridge, will you" comes in.

5. Cerpin Taxt

Cerpin Taxt

Jun 12, 2005
    Heh.

That's exactly why I was asking.

6. pyrohr

pyrohr

Aug 28, 2001
    Pakistani compound
    As a Marcus miller owner I understand why you may want the Sadowsky pre. It could be the mysique of Marcus's real bass or just putting a "tighter sounding" pre-amp in the bass. I got an outboard Aggie DB924 just for reason #2. You may want to take your bass and test drive a Sadowsky outboard pre, when your done with that check out the Aggie DB924 out board. this way you don't put money into the bass you may not be able to recover should you choose to let the bass go. Plus you can use the outboard pre with any other bass or basses you may own.

7. pyrohr

pyrohr

Aug 28, 2001