1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Upgrading to an EBMM

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by CanadianFunk, May 18, 2011.

1. CanadianFunk

CanadianFunk

May 18, 2011
    Nova Scotia
    Hey everyone, I'm Zack and I have a question for you.
    I've been playing bass for a few months now, on a cheap squier $300 indonesian J-Bass.
    I've heard that Sterling Rays are pretty close to jazz's when it comes to playability, as the necks are fairy similar, so I want to save up to get one of those. I can pick one up now for $700 new, but the band I'm in plays everything from country to heavy metal, is a Sterling Ray a versatile bass or will it sound... out of place in certain styles of music?

Thanks in advance for your advice, and happy to have joined the forum :)

2. Melvin7822

Melvin7822 Supporting Member

May 11, 2004
    Broomfield, CO
    I assume you're referring to a Sterling by Music Man (SBMM) SB-14. These basses actually have great versatility. However, the secret to finding this versatility involves becoming greatly familiar with the onboard EQ, hand placement, and the 3-way switch. If all you do is crank the EQ, never vary your hand placement, and never touch the switch, then all versatility is lost.

3. RFord04

RFord04

Apr 8, 2009
    Flint, Michigan
    IMO, a Stingray is an entirely different beast. An HH model will be fairly versatile, but if you're looking at Sterling brand rays (which by the way, is not EBMM, but rather SBMM), you'll only have the choice of a single humbucker, which IMO won't work too well for country. Also, the necks on the Rays will be more similar to a P-bass than a jazz, as they are generally wider, I believe. I've had many Jazz basses and a few different rays, and I'd say the Ray is less versatile than the Jazz.

4. CanadianFunk

CanadianFunk

May 18, 2011
    Nova Scotia