upper register

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by sgtbaker, Mar 14, 2002.

1. sgtbaker

Mar 14, 2002
    i am 21 years old and i have played the bass for around 10 years now, i started on electric bass. i started playing string bass about a year and a half ago and it's been so challenging for me. i have a wonderful bass teacher, jim widner(played for the stan kenton orchestra) of the jim widner big band and he helps me out alot.
    but what i'm asking is, i have so much trouble with the upper register of the bass. i practice so hard, sometimes 3 to 4 hours a day, but the upper register seems so impossible to me. i always feel as if i'm taking blind stabs at high notes. i think i have a descent ear and i've trained my relative pitch, so it bugs me when i hit a funny note, but it's too late and too quick once i hit a weird note. i'm wondering if you can give me any advice as to how i can fix my problem. i just started playing out of the evolving bassist books by rufus reid and it seems to be helping a little.
    well, thank you for your time.
    take care.
  2. Do you know about the Vomit Exercise? It's a actually a bowing exercise but it can also have a profound effect on the left hand.

The basic exercise is like this:

Starting in 1st position on the G string (1st finger on A), play the A and shift, keeping your finger on the string, a whole step to B and back down to A. Then shift from A to C# and back, A to D and back, ect. all using only your first finger, all the way up the A major scale through 2 octaves and back down. You can also start in half position and do it in Ab with your first finger or 2-2 shifts in A; in Bb or B starting with your 4th finger and shift to another finger up and down the scale, etc.

You could also start working on one of the Nanny Etudes de Virtuosite. That's all about big-ass shifts, many in and out of thumb position.
  3. sgtbaker

Mar 14, 2002