Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Upright bass volume

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by mchildree, Apr 8, 2001.

1. mchildree

mchildree Supporting Member

Sep 4, 2000
    AL/GA
    I'm having trouble generating the volume I *think* I should be getting out of my bass. I'm new to this game, so I'm looking to the experienced DB players on the list for assistance. My bass is a newish Strunal plywood strung with Helicore Pizz Mediums. When it arrived, I had a local luthier work on the string height and bridge shape a bit and he commented on how well the bass seemed to be set up "out of the box" in comparison to others he's worked with. The volume increased a good bit when I installed the Helicores, but I'm still having trouble hearing myself over an acoustic guitarist (who doesn't seem to me to be playing especially loudly). I'm planning on playing bluegrass and folksy stuff, and I can imagine that I'd be pretty lost in a trio or more. I'm working my right hand as hard as I feel I should, but still not enough volume. I owned a '50s Kay a couple of years back and I don't remember having this problem.

What factors are involved in double bass volume increase or decrease? Any particulars I should check out? The luthier who worked on the bass has a good reputation for work on acoustic string instruments although not particularly for double basses. Could he have missed something like a soundpost installed incorrectly, etc.?

2. Jeff Bonny

Jeff Bonny Supporting Member

Nov 20, 2000
    Vancouver, BC
    Volume aside how would you describe the quality of the sound? (constricted? open? etc.)
    Can you raise the strings? (this'll increase vol.)
    Do you have access to a set of Spirocores to try?
    Are the bridge feet cut so they touch evenly on the top of the bass?
    Is the soundpost too tight?

3. mchildree

Sep 4, 2000
    AL/GA