Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

upright bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by BassMan2000, Oct 29, 2003.

1. BassMan2000

BassMan2000

Sep 27, 2000
    Canada
    Hi guys, I've been playing upright bass for about 4 years (electric 7). Unfortunately I've been playing cheap plywood basses, the whole time. I do play my teachers 12,000 custom upright everyonce in awhile at a lesson. I'm going to be attending univeristy and studying upright bass in orchestra and jazz bands.

There is this bass that is for sale, its a fully carved spruce and highly flamed bass. Adjustable bridge,3/4 ebony finger board. My teacher played it and so did a few professional bassists in the area and they enjoyed it alot. My teacher thinks its a great buy and so on, he checked it out the set-up is great, the strings is great it feels like a 100 year old german bass (amazing to play no wolf notes, just clean tone and so easy to play). The bass is brand new, about 4 months old, and just really stunning. I'm not sure on the make of the bass, I was just checking to see if I skipped a step because the shop is good, the owner their is great, does setups for the orchestra players in th city and is all around a good buy.

The cost of the bass is 4600(Canadian) even with Bass/Bag and a Bow.

2. Well, it certainly sounds great. You said your teacher and some pro players checked it out. You didn't say what kind of players they are. (jazz, classical....)
    If they are the former and you are convinced they are the descriminating type, then I'd go for it.