Upright bassists who inspired you as an electric player

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Richard Lindsey, Aug 19, 2001.

1. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC
    Title speaks for itself, really. I don't play upright at all--I'm an electric bass guitarist--but bass is bass in my book, and I've been impressed, touched, moved, and knocked out by a number of great upright players. Especially as a jazz player, you can't avoid them anyway, so you might as well learn to like them! :) So who are the upright players who ring your bell?

Some of mine are

Ray Brown (whose walking is a thing of beauty)
    Paul Chambers
    Scott La Faro
    Gary Peacock
    Eddie Gomez
    Ron McClure (VERY underrated guy; I studied with him for a year, and he is BAD)
    John Patitucci (playing better than ever these days)
    Cecil McBee
    Red Mitchell (what an unsung monster)
    Charlie Haden
    Jimmy Garrison
    Dave Holland
    Buster Williams
  2. Bass Guitar

Bass Guitar Supporting Member

Aug 13, 2001
    Good thread. The ones I listen to and have influenced me:

John Pattitucci
    Rob Wasserman
    Christian McBride
    Charles Mingus
    Robert Hurst
    Alain Caron (when he plays upright)
  3. I can't really add any to the list, because you already mentioned Ray Brown. Other than that, just the guys I hear on the local jazz show on CBC, I never know their names though.
  4. rayengle

Mar 10, 2001
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Good lists!

I'd add:
    Richard Davis
    Major Holland (whistling + arco solos = cool!)
  5. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    Stanley Clarke
    James Jamerson
    Oscar Pettiford
  6. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I would definitely say that Stanley Clarke's DB playing on "Light as Feather" has influenced my Jazz playing on BG - amazing solos and very interesting in terms of line construction in Latin/Jazz.