Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by HHHolmes, Feb 13, 2003.

1. I'm having a hardtime keeping my upright from feeding back & still being heard during gigs. I usually play in tight quarters, so someone's amp is always close by. I've tried using a pre-amp & compressor pedals - but have to admit that I'm not much of a gear head.

The pick-up I have is an Underwood - it even happens if I go straight into the board.

Please help before someone loses their virtility.
  2. Sorry for the lack of 411

I've been playing electric & upright for about 20 years, but my only upright experience is orchestral & small jazz combos. Now I find myself trying to keep up with electric guitarists, bashing drummers & neurotic keyboardists.

I play alot of styles, but currently am heading in a Barenaked Ladies / Electric Bluegrass / Rockabilly direction. Things tend to get loud on stage and my bass starts feeding back & vibrating (which reminds me to try this on my chick - hmmm).

Anyway, someone has suggested replacing my metal end pin. I've also been told to fill the bass with insulation foam (I took that guys keys & called a taxi).
  3. MacDaddy

Jan 26, 2002
    Provo, UT, USA
    You can tell really easily if it's your end-pin rattling. If it's a quick metallic sound, it's the end-pin. You can either chop off the end you're not using to make it shorter, or replace it with a better insulated one with more contact. My end pin only rattles if I leave the nut really really loose, but otherwise it's all good. (yay for Hammond Ashley!)
    If you're playing on like a Kay or Engelhardt, then I can pretty much garauntee it's the end-pin. If it's a good carved then a bad end-pin would be an oddity.
    If it's the string vibrating, then you got issues, no experience there.
  4. olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France