Upright Technique used on Electric

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by SacOnBass, Jan 10, 2005.

1. I've developed a habbit of using the my pinky on my left hand in place of my ring finger on electric bass. Your taught on Upright to not use the ring finger unless your in the higher range and Ive taken that technique and transfered it to electric.

Is this a bad way of playing electric? Im pretty well trained in both and was just wondering if this is having a negative effect on my electric playing.

What do you guys use?

2. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    No, it's not bad. Some guys use it, some don't. Since I started studying upright, I've used it more.
  3. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    I do it on fretless. I was doing URB right-hand plucking technique today in the studio.
  4. 7flat5

Nov 28, 2003
    Upstate NY
    Some gals use it, too. ;) If I'm not mistaken, Carol Kaye is a big proponent of this approach to electric bass, and credits it for keeping her from repetitive motion problems over her years of playing. Interesting, since she was a guitar player, not a bass (viol) player first.
  5. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC
    If it's not stopping you from doing what you need to do, then there's no problem in my book, and you couldn't really say that way is "bad."

For my own purposes, I don't believe in the necessity of the 1-2-4 approach for electric bass. I use it sometimes in first position, or when the fingering seems to demand it for other reasons, but as a rule it's 1-2-3-4. I wouldn't avoid using a finger unless there was a good reason to--why waste?--and I've never encountered a good enough reason on electric bass. But everybody's hands are different, and basically, whatever works works.