Upton Bass Polish Basses

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Hector Wolff, Jun 15, 2003.

1. I have been studying for two years, using one of my teachers basses (an 80 year old, Tyrolean), and am now looking for my first bass.

Because my budget is around $2000, and I expect to bring my bass to lessons and to orchestra rehearsals, I am looking at only laminated basses. (I know I will never be able to afford a bass that sounds as good for arco,as that Tyrolean.)

I have seen a line of Polish made basses on the Upton Bass site (Connecticut). They have both a laminated and a hybrid, that have beautiful proportions, good color and a nice finish, for a reasonable price. Gary Upton was very pleasant and helpful; he felt that the Polish laminated bass has a better sound then the Engelhardts.

Has anyone ever seen and played one of these new Upton Polish basses?

Also has anyone bought any bass with the Upton setup? Do you feel they do a good job?

Lastly, has anyone actually played one of the new Sam Shen, SB100, laminated basses (with the new violin corner body). I am told these are very well made, and they certainly look good.

Thanks for any information you can provide.
  2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY

I'm not sure of the model #, but I've played several of the laminated Shen basses up at TRUCKLLOAD's* Shop in Cincy, and they were really nice. One of my students bought one, and another of my combo students over at the university bought one last year. Both sound great, and I can recommend them without reservation based on what I've seen. I can't imagine it would be too difficult in the NY area to get to where you could get your hands on one and see for yourself.

Good luck, and welcome to TB. :)

* (Translation: Nick "Lex" Lloyd, Talkbass member and Lluthier)
  3. Thanks, Chris and dlearner.

I checked out the link and the comments made there, it was encouraging.