Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by emre03, Nov 29, 2003.

1. emre03

Sep 18, 2000
    Hi all;
    I'm reeeaaallly cofused. I plan to buy a new bass on monday, untill today I was sure that i was going to buy a status shark 5, i liked its tone, i adored its playability, and i'd have some money left over(i got a great deal-first hand, for 500 dollars) so then i'd save up for some pu and preamp changes on this bass and some more modifications...
    But then later today i learned that the same store had an fretless stingray fretted and they were going to sell it for 1200 dollars, may be I'd get it for 1100 but no less. Right now I'm selling a bass and totaly may be I'd have enough to buy the stingray but the problem is the stingray is a four-banger and i've been playing 5s and sixs for 3 years, not that i use the low b very much but I'm used to the tight string spacing and i love it.
    I also am like a newbie and i'm not playing any gigs yet(may be in a couple of months but not now) so i don't know if i need an high end insturment.....
    I really am very very confused, on one hand I'd buy an great playing bass, with a tone that i love and modify every detail of it to my wants, it'd be like a custom bass and on the other hand there's a STINGRAY, but its only a four stringer.....
    And also i really like the bongo concept, more than stingray concept , so may be i should save up for it....
    What should i do????
    Any suggestions????
  2. hoytmonster

Nov 28, 2003
    I'm not that familiar with the Status bass, but I know you can get StingRay 5s almost anytime you want.

If you really like the Status and think it will meet your needs for a while -- get it. You can always get a StingRay later. Don't know what you could sell the Status for later, but I bet you wouldn't lose too much.