USA Peavey Cirrus 5 owners: what kind of strings?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jacoby75, May 1, 2012.

1. jacoby75

jacoby75 Supporting Member

Mar 11, 2010
    Coldwater, MI
    Endorsing Artist: Mike Lull Custom Guitars, DR Strings
    Hi guys,

I'm pretty excited that my first Peavey Cirrus is going to be arriving via FedEx tomorrow! I have been a passive guy for a while now, but I wanted something different, and from what I've heard online, I will not be disappointed with the Cirrus V.

Any advice on what kind of strings to try? I like to be able to set it up with low action, and I prefer a stiffer string. It's a Walnut cirrus with rosewood fretboard. I'm a DR endorsing artist, and I'm sure they have some type that will sound great on this bass, but I thought I'd ask first to see if there were any opinions out there before I start buying random string sets.

I use Marcus Miller Fat Beams on my 5-string P-bass (with rosewood fretboard) and 5-string Jazz (with maple fretboard), which I love, but I'm thinking I'll want some warmer-sounding strings on the Cirrus. Do you guys use nickel or steel strings? Any experience with DR strings on them? Maybe Sunbeams or Nickel Low-Riders?

Thanks!

2. The ciruss players that I know play citrus strings. If I remember correctly seems to be quite a few cirrus players on fb also use the cirrus strings. I have yet to get my cirrus dream bass. Of course you could always experiment with strings to see what sounds best to you. Remember these are longer scale so regular strings won't fit.

3. chaosMK

chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Too much hip thrust
    I only use steel Lo-Riders on mine. I go for a bright sound though, need to cut through in my genres.

To the above dude- I've never had any problem with strings fitting these due to the 35" scale.

4. jacoby75

jacoby75 Supporting Member

Mar 11, 2010
    Coldwater, MI
    Endorsing Artist: Mike Lull Custom Guitars, DR Strings