USB audio interface

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by RumbleMan3, Apr 21, 2018.

1. RumbleMan3

RumbleMan3

Apr 14, 2018
    Australia
    Hey everyone. I’m a young bassist who is new to the whole recording thing. I want a simple recording setup to record my bass, my friends guitar, my other friends keyboard, a drumkit, and an old acoustic guitar, which are main and probably only instruments I’ll be recording ever. I’ve been chatting with some other talkbassers and they all recon I should get a USB interface and a couple mics.

The interfaces I’m looking at only have 1 mic in, 1 instrument in, 1 headphone jack with volume control and +48 option. The bass, guitar and keyboard I can run directly into the interface and the drums and acoustic guitar will have to be recorded on mic (Shure sm57 and akg d112 for kickdrum.)

Now I’m looking at the Focusrite Scarlett solo (2nd gen), the M audio M track 2x2, and the Behringer U Phoria Umc22.

The Scarlett and M track are both around $200aud. Out of the 2 I would pick the M track cos it has zero monitor latency which the Scarlett doesn’t.
    Now the Behringer is heaps heaps cheaper, I’ve seen online maybe around $60aud maybe even cheaper. This has all the same specs of the other 2 except instead of 24 resolution (which the Scarlett and m track both have) it has 48 resolution (i think, according to website), but it doesn’t have zero latency either.

Out of the 3 the M track has all the same features, and zero latency. This doesn’t seem to lack anything and seems like a good choice, but I haven’t heard much about it and I don’t know if it is worth getting or not.

I know the Behringer is good cos it’s the cheapest, and the Focusrite Scarlett seems very well reviewed but they both have some delay, the Scarlett more than the Behringer I think.