1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

USB v3 vs Firewire - will the gap narrow ?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by pfschim, Apr 25, 2010.

1. pfschim

pfschim Just a Skeleton with a Jazz bass Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2006
    SF Bay Area
    Just curious if anyone has any insight into whether or not the advent of USB v3 will help USB interfaces narrow the performance gap with Firewire interfaces. I don't think that USB v3 has added an synchronous aspect to the spec (Firewire has synchronous function), it has just widened the data path and raised the clock rate, but I am not a super techie and am still wondering about this.

any informed views on this question ?

2. UncleFluffy

UncleFluffy

Mar 8, 2009
    California
    Head Tinkerer, The Flufflab
    USB has had synchronous modes since USB2.

IMO, Firewire has little or no advantage over a properly implemented USB system. (Unfortunately, there's a lot of crappily implemented USB motherboards around, so try before you buy).

3. Spencer!

Spencer!

Jun 25, 2006
    Seattle
    Owner, Pike Amplification & 3Leaf Audio
    USB 3 is full-duplex like firewire, but with a much higher throughput, so it should render firewire completely obsolete. Intel's lightpeak technology looks promising, but it's still a while off at this point.

4. chicago_mike

chicago_mike

Oct 9, 2007
    Chicago - LA - Rome
    Endorsing Artist : Genz Benz
    The problem with usb 1 and 2 is that usb would talk to device 1 then talk to device 2 then talk to device 3....firewire doesnt act like that. Thats why many times the mouse or printer would take over the usb port if you happened to also have a soundcard on the same ports controller, or even on a different controller.

5. Jim Roseberry

Jim Roseberry

May 24, 2007
    USB3 will bring USB performance to a whole new level.