1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Use a Traynor YVM-4 PA amp for bass?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by hublocker, Mar 11, 2008.

1. hublocker

hublocker

May 17, 2007
    A singer at a jam session I was at on the weekend says she's got a Traynor YVM-4 amp in the basement I can have if I want.

Could I use that for playing bass through?

It has a "huge" speaker cabinet that goes with it she says, but I have a Fender 2 x12 that might work too.

Anyway, I just started playing with with these three guys in an alt.country type (Mavericks, Wilco, Blue Rodeo etc.) band and they're dissatisfied with the volume out of my Roland Cube 60. they want a raunchier punchier sound but I'm not in the mood to drag my Ampeg V4B across the city and two municipalities away for rehearsals every two weeks so a third amp set up at the practice space might be the ticket.

The Ampeg needs work anyway.

What do you think?

2. 62bass

62bass

Apr 3, 2005
    They're giving it to you. Try it out. What have you got to lose?

If it's the mixer amp I'm thinking of, it's about 100 watts at best. Solid state. A lot of groups used them for small PA setups. Not very good for bass. A lot will depend on the speaker cabinet you use. It could be better (but a lot bigger and heavier) than your Roland. Not much better though. For rehearsals it'll be okay maybe.

3. joegeezer

joegeezer

Mar 9, 2005
    Northern Wisconsin
    Avatar Club#12 Eden Club Lucky# 13--USA Peavey Club#37 Carvin Club#5
    Traynor's never die! It'll work fine for a practice amp, you bet.

4. anderbass

anderbass

Dec 20, 2005
    Phoenix. Az.
    I'd give it a try, it might just come in handy as a small PA for ya sometime too.
    http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=navclient&ie=UTF-8&rlz=1T4DMUS_enUS221US222&q=Traynor+YVM-4

Traynor YVM-4
    Features