Use my "Guitar POD 2.0" or get a Pandora?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by JFT, Jul 23, 2002.

1. Hi all,

I'm a guitarist that recently switched to bass. I already own a POD 2.0 (guitar) and I'm wondering whether it is "usable" with a bass of if I should get a PX-4B.

So far I thought I had found a good Pod preset to use with my bass but after plugging in a real bass amp I realized my tone is butchered by my pod :mad:

Anybody got a good guitar POD preset to use with a bass? Or should I simply bite the bullet and get the pandora? (Other suggestions?)

Will the the Pandora top any settings I could find on my (guitar) pod?

I'm mostly doing home studio stuff so the lack of footswitch is not critical.

I already have a synth that double up as drum machine so I don't really need that Pandora functionality.

2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

I'm not "anti-effects" by any means. But the Korg Pandora has definitely improved my playing and that's more important to me.

It allows me to practice much more often and to break down recordings, (sample them amd manipulate the playback of the samples).

It's a tough call because we're comparing "apples to oranges" - two gizmos that have different primary functions.
  3. Hi Rick,

I'm always practicing beside my synth which is beside my computer so I'm always roughly a click away of recording myself.

I know that the POD is an amp simulator whereas the Pandora is practice amp/effects marvel with tons of gizmo.

What I'm really wondering is the preamp of both? Honestly I don't have the cash to shell for a bass pod right now I'd really like to find some usable setting for my guitar Pod but right now the sounds SUCK big time so I'm ready to spend "some" money and the price of the Pandora is right.