use of diminished chords

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by bass555, Apr 26, 2005.

1. bass555

Mar 16, 2005
    i'm a pretty good student of diatonic harmony and I have played numerous songs with dim chords (covers), but, as a writer, I simply have not had the "instinct" of where and when to apply dim chords in my it a setup thing?

A dim chord is basically two min 3rds stacked, right? you fellows just play the root or do you get adventuresome and play the extended chord tones, as well

I guess aug chords are welcome in this thread, too...

Stupid aug chords (/Homer)
  2. small, heavy be

small, heavy be

Apr 25, 2005
    i'm actually dealing with the aug thing right now.
    i have a progression that goes from Bbminor to A aug to Dmaj, which is cool because it allows me to do a chromatic descent while pedaling the third on my G (for the first two).
    i kind of came into this accidentally, though, and i really don't know much past that about it.
    wish i did, though, cuz if i were more familiar with the aug. chords i think the bassline could really pick up some steam.
  3. Correlli

Apr 2, 2004
    New Zealand
    A Diminished chord can have 4 possible key centers - Root, 3rd, 5th, and 7th.

That's as much as I know.
  4. Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    A Diminished chord is a minor chord with a flat 5th. Check out the song Glass Sandwich by Primus. It's based on an A diminished.
  5. Getao

Jun 17, 2004
    Menlo Park, CA
    Diminished is more than flat fifth... that's half diminished (locrian)

Diminished also has a double flatted seventh

EG in Cdim, the notes are C, Eb (min 3), Gb (min 5), Bbb or A (dbl flat seven)
  6. Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland