1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Used Fender P-Bass Questions

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Whiplash17, Oct 12, 2013.

1. Whiplash17

Whiplash17

Oct 12, 2013
    Hello. I started playing bass about 6 months ago after playing guitar on and off for years. I bought a used 5 string Schecter that I am fond of, but really wished I had started with a 4 string. So, I have been watching my local Guitar Center for months looking for a used Fender P Bass. After not finding anything, I decided to take a leap of faith and buy one online from a different GC.

I called around looking for something in very good condition and found one this past week, it should be delivered on Tuesday :)

From the pics and the add, it is a dark blue (they called it Royal Blue but said it wasn't a metallic type finish) MIM Fender P-bass with a rosewood neck and a black pick guard.

After doing some looking online, I don't see a whole lot of dark blue Fenders (or black pick guards) and am hoping it isn't some random P-bass style body with a Fender neck bolted on. Is there anyway to tell if it is a genuine Fender (i.e. not a Squire, or some other clone)? BTW, I am in no way trying to knock clones, but for the price I paid it better be real!

Thanks in advanced for any advice.

2. georgestrings

georgestrings Banned

Nov 5, 2005
    A look at the headstock, and the serial # should tell you all you want to know...

- georgestrings

3. Dluxe

Dluxe

Jan 9, 2011
    Austin, TX
    They usually came with white pickguards so that has been replaced. They did come in a blue finish that almost looks purple in certain light. GC has a 30 day return policy so you will have plenty of time to check it out.

4. 2cooltoolz

2cooltoolz Supporting Member

Nov 12, 2009
    Lake Conroe, TX