1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Used vs. New for a Beginner

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by reakin, Apr 1, 2013.

1. reakin

reakin

Apr 26, 2010
    First a little about me. I'm a middle aged professional (electrical engineer), and I've decided to learn to play bass as a way to relax, unwind and relieve a little stress at the end of the day. No desire to gig or join a band or anything like that. Personal enjoyment only.

I picked up a First Act combo off a guy just to thump on to get my feet wet in the world of bass, so to speak. I know, I know, junk with a capitol J, but I got it cheap and figured it would hold me while I learned a little until I decided on what I really wanted. The look and feel of the bass just doesn't thrill me, so I find I don't pick it up as often as I should. I'm thinking a new (to me) bass that is something that "blows my skirt up" a bit and I enjoy the look and feel of might encourage me to give it more effort. I really like the look of a Jazz or Jaguar body style (especially the Jaguar).

I'd like to buy something in the $150 range, just because I can't justify spending a lot on a hobby right now (other life commitments take priority). I stopped by a music store over the weekend and they had a new Samick Corsair on a half-off sale for $129. Nice looking bass, but the P body doesn't attract my eyes like the Jazz or Jaguar body style does. I see some used Squier Jaguars on Guitar Center's website that I could get into for about the same price.