Using 5ths or octaves.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by CrawlingEye, Mar 21, 2001.

1. CrawlingEye

CrawlingEye Member

Mar 20, 2001
    Easton, Pennsylvania
    Hey... This is my first time posting on this board. I didn't even think I'd have a need to - ha!

But I like using a lot of 5th's and octaves, but sometimes have trouble working them into lines/songs.

I have one line that uses harmonics and octaves... neat line... I play a lot of ska. (the octaves and 5ths are in ska.) Any ideas?

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Errr...what's the question? Any ideas... for what?
  3. Yvon

Yvon Supporting Member

Nov 2, 2000
    Montreal, Canada
    I'm not sure I understand the question either but...
    what about a digitech wammy pedal?
  4. brewer9

Jul 5, 2000
    Do you mean as chords or as seperate fill-in notes?

I think the answer to your question is to try using them in various ways. You'll eventually learn which ways you like and which you dont.
  5. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

If you are having trouble fitting in the 1/5/8 combination , maybe the bassline is too busy for the tempo of the song.
    Maybe if you save that combination for fills or use the 1/5/8 only every other bar, you will not be so pressed to get it all in. A bassline does not require fireworks in every bar. Often times it is much more effective if it is given space and simplified.

6. CrawlingEye

CrawlingEye Member

Mar 20, 2001
    Easton, Pennsylvania
    My question is how to work in the octave/5th notes to a measure. In like a ska type bassline.

I've done it before, but is there any scales that work well with it?

Any logic of thinking that works well?