Using a car amp/sub as a bass amp.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Snorbz, Mar 27, 2005.

1. Snorbz

Mar 27, 2005

i'm new to bass and im after an amp. unfortunatly i just bought a nice 12" sub and car amp and now i cant afford a bass amp.

so, i was thinking i could temporarly use the car amp and sub.

i can power the sub in the house, no problems....
    but im unsure how i'd put the signal into the amp. It has a high imput plug and a low input with left and right rca plugs.

if i plug the guitar into the low input on the amp would i blow somthing up?

and if anyone has tried this before id like to know how bad it sounds....

i also have a house amp and 2 speaker boxes each with 12" drivers + tweeters, but i figued that would be worse.
  2. The use of a sub woofer is not really a goer. They have a freq range of only a few hundred Hz at best. For bass we are looking at more like 50-16,000 Hz.

A cheap practice amp is maybe the best option. There is a few good ones around. Not to stir up another major debate but there is a Behringer that sounds good for the dollars. I think it's about 60W and is a combo. It's the easy option.

If you more inclined to build one,

There is a realy good power amp that you can build. It is at

The cost to build is very cheap but it will knock you off you feet in terms of grunt per dollar.

400W RMS @4ohm, 240 @ 8ohms. and very reliable.

I have a stereo version of this that I built for bass and it did a fantastic job. It can very easily be bridged. I now use it for a mixer amp. The PCB can be bought from Anthony at that web site for about $30 US. The rest of the parts can be purchased local. Anthony gives you detailed instructions on building.

You can then simply use an external pre amp that are cheap. You could even use a valve preamp. Match this up with a 2x10 and you'll annoy any neighbour.

You will find with a reasonable cab you are NOT compromising in any way but didn't have to spend much money at all.