Using a Guitar head and a bass cab?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Albini_Fan, Jan 28, 2003.

1. Albini_Fan

Albini_Fan Banned

Jan 26, 2003
    Beneath Below
    I am totally new to amps, so I have no idea what I'm talking about. Can I play a bass through a Traynor guitar head and just any old bass cab? Or will I ruin them both?
  2. Steven Green

Steven Green

Jul 25, 2001
    Pacific NW
    That will work fine. Just don't play through a guitar cabinet! I tried my Trace Elliot Speed Twin guitar head through my Epifani 4x10 and it was pretty nice. Not amazing volume, but pretty decent for practicing IMO.
  3. Albini_Fan

Albini_Fan Banned

Jan 26, 2003
    Beneath Below
    Well, I'm looking for something loud =\ Will a guitar head not cut it?

And also, is cranking your amp to full volume, keeping your bass on low volume and turning it up to crunch bad for the speaker? I'm sure Shellac's Bassist does it instead of using an effect pedal, but he dosn't hurt his speaker. And I probably will =\
  4. ESP-LTD

Sep 9, 2001
    I bet you find a guitar head is pretty quiet. A hot guitar head is 100w, while it's pretty common for bass heads to make 300-1,000 watts. I bet you get lost in the mix.

Some folks will run their sound thru a crossover and feed the highs thru a guitar rig, then it's about like a normal guitar signal.
  5. leper

Jun 21, 2001
    youll be plenty loud as long as you have a loud cab (6x10 or bigger)

Ive used an ampeg v4 guitar head, 100 watts and it did two things. 1) Nailed the shellac bass tone 2) Almost shook my house off of its foundation