1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Using a jack lead to hook up cabs?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by dllive, Jul 30, 2012.

1. dllive

dllive

Dec 30, 2011
    Hi all,
    I have 2 cabs and one amp. One of the cabs sounds like its blown, but I dont think it has. Im using jack leads instead of speaker cables to connect these together - is that wrong and could that be causing one of the cabs to sound crappy?
    Can you recommend decent speaker cables?
    Thanks

2. LowEZ

LowEZ Supporting Member

Mar 29, 2011
    Central NJ
    Bad idea. Your "jack leads" are coax cables with light-duty wires that were never designed to handle the voltage a head can put out. You need speaker cables, period. I can't recommend any because I've been making my own for 30 years but any speaker cable is going to be far better than guitar cable.

3. dllive

dllive

Dec 30, 2011
    Thanks - I thought that may be the case!

4. dincz

dincz

Sep 25, 2010
    Czech Republic
    Jack leads are commonly used for speakers but I guess you're talking about instrument cables. Not a good idea. While they'll cope with the voltage, they won't handle the current and could overheat/melt.

5. craig.p

craig.p

Sep 28, 2008
    New Hampshire
    And can present a dangerously reactive load to the amp, to which different amps will react in different ways.

6. Biggbass

Biggbass

Dec 14, 2011
    Planet Earth
    use speaker cables.
    I got mine custom built from Pro Cables. Road tough and no messy add'l length to
    have to hide away.

7. dllive

dllive

Dec 30, 2011