Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Using a pick

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by BDC, Jul 11, 2000.

1. I started playing the bass about 7 months ago. For a couple of years before that I messed around with the guitar. I feel very comfortable playing with a pick, especially with the type of music my band plays (ROCK). I also switch to finger picking on a few songs. Do you think playing bass mostly with a pick hinders or helps the learning process? Have either of you ever tried using a pick?

2. Steve Lawson

Steve Lawson Solo Bass Exploration! Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2000
    Birmingham, UK
    There's nothing at all wrong with using a pick, and there are some amazing players around who play predominantly or exclusively with a pick and make a great noise! :oops:) Carol Kaye, Steve Swallow, and Michael's band mate in SadHappy, Paul Hinklin would be three that immediately came to mind, as well as scores of rock and metal bassists. Oh, and not forgetting the great Anthony Jackson!

So no pick snobbery here - I've just started investigating them again recently, particularly because I was given a load of F1 picks ( www.f1pick.com ) at the NAMM show to try out and I really like the design. It something I intend to do more of in the future... I also work in a duo with a cellist who's started using a pick for some melody lines, which is a great sound!!