Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Using a resistor to change cab ohms?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by kringle77, Mar 27, 2005.

1. kringle77

kringle77 Supporting Member

Jul 30, 2004
    Massena NY
    I want to use ampeg 32 ohm speakers to make a 2x10 cab. I will obviously be left with a 16 ohm cab when what I want is an 8 ohm. Could I put a 16 ohm resistor in parallel with the speakers and therefore get an 8 ohm load? The speakers are 100 watts a piece for a total of 200 watts. If this would work, what wattage/voltage resistor would I use. Im an electrician by trade but I have never heard of anyone doing this and don't feel like blowing up my amp by creating a strange load. Another idea would be to put a 32 ohm resistor in parallel with each speaker.....that sounds better to me. Let me know guys, .....a few of you sound very knowledgable about this stuff.

2. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    with a big enough component i belive you could but only 1/2 the power will go to the drivers. the other 1/2 will go to the resistor. you're better off just making a 16 ohm cab, but much better off making an 8 or 4 ohm cab by buying the correct speakers, or buying a premade 8 or 4 ohm cab.

3. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    Or by running 4 speakers...

4. kringle77

Jul 30, 2004
    Massena NY
    Thanks for the advice guys.....your right, thats just what I thought. But, I just can't seem to find speakers that sound like the ones from the ampeg 8x10 cab that come in 4 or 16 ohms to give me a total 8 ohm load. Any suggestions on that? :crying:

5. Forget about the resistor. You get exactly the same power going to your speaker, the extra power the amp puts out from the 4 ohm load goes to heating the resistor. Totally useless.

Randy

6. kringle77