1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Using Awowo Live Drums as a midi controller...

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Ephminus, May 1, 2009.

1. Ephminus

Ephminus

Nov 6, 2008
    I'm looking into getting a midi controller for the midi drums that I use in Reaper.
    Playing my PC keyboard is pretty sloppy and annoying.

I'm thinking about ordering the Awowo Live Drums and then try using a USB to midi coverter cable to trigger the midi in Reaper.
    My PC doesn't have a midi input and I heard that you can use a converter cable instead of installing a midi card.

I'm very new to this whole midi thing.
    Anyone have experience with this?

Here's a couple links to the products I'm interested in....

Awowo Live Drums
    http://www.awowo.com/live-drums-anytime-anywhere.html

USB to Midi Converter
    http://www.uxcell.com/usb-midi-cable-converter-connect-for-windows-vista-mac-p-12257.html

Any help would be appreciated!

2. seamonkey

seamonkey

Aug 6, 2004
    The Awowo looks fun for sure. I don't know how well it works.

Consider changing your keyboard midi map to what Larry Seyer came up with
    http://www.larryseyerdigital.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=85&Itemid=121
    You can listen to his demos, he had a video some place, but the layout works good.

In all honesty, I wouldn't bother playing all the drum parts. There's many sequencer's/drum machine software packages that do this automatically. Many free.
    Not free but cool is Jamstixs http://www.rayzoon.com/
    It will listen to what you're playing and come up with a drum beats/fills/...
    You can pick different drummer personalities

3. Ephminus

Ephminus

Nov 6, 2008
    I think I need to be more clear in my explanation....