Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Using binding for fretlines

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Jerry J, Sep 16, 2003.

1. Jerry J

Jerry J Supporting Member

Mar 27, 2000
    P-town, OR
    I recently bought a very nice J bass neck from Warmoth. I've given the neck to a local guitar repair guy to install fretlines. The neck came with no frets but the slots are cut.

I really want fretlines that show up in dim light so I'm thinking that the maple strips that are normally used might not be light colored enough. Or that they might darken up over time.

The guy says that the material that is used for fingerboard binding should fit in the fret slots.

Do you think that this would work out ok? I have no experience with this and apparently neither does he.

2. Hey Jerry

I don't have any experience with using binding but I do have experience with bright white fret markings. I asked a freind (guitar tech) to use something extremely bright and he ended up using this white plastic. I was able to see the fretlines in almost all playing situatonis. On the down side the plastic didn't like being glued to wood and so the line would constantly shift. This required them to be reglued and the neck reshaved (major pain:( ).

I guess that since binding already ticks to guitars it might be ok (but you may want to check since there is a fair bit of actviity over the fretlines). I've also found that using the line has improved my intonation substantailly but that I ahve grown to think of them as kinda tacky looking. I don't mind lines but I wish they were slightly less bright.

Oh as for my problem I think I'm gonna solve by coating the fingerboard. While I think I prefer the sound of an uncoated board I think it will just be easier in the long run. I hope this helps or at least gives you something more to think about. C-YA

Ben

3. JP Basses

JP Basses

Mar 22, 2002