Using PA power amps with a bass Pre amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Chris_AtariDoll, Jun 7, 2002.

1. Chris_AtariDoll

Dec 8, 2001
    I'm looking to start building up my new bass rig. I was thinking about buying a basic pre amp (any suggestions) and using a PA power amp (possibly adding another in the future as i add more cabs). Are there any problems with this idea.

2. BFunk

BFunk Supporting Member

This is done all the time.

Check out Crown, Crest, QSC, Stewart. I am sure others will have more suggestions.
  3. wiermabj

wiermabj President and founding member - Bass Newb Club

Jun 4, 2002
    Westminster, MD
    As a newbie here, it was suggested to me to use my exisiting Mackie 1400 amp I used for my bands PA and throw a preamp on top of that. It gives me plenty of options and power but as a hobbyist, it may be overkill for my needs. I was thinking of going with a Mesa Walkabout and a 2X10 for starters. If your interested, I might let my Mackie 1400 go. You can PM or email me.
  4. jondog

Mar 14, 2002
    NYC metro area
    Hi, I run my preamp into a Mackie 1400i. It probably is too much power for a hobbyist, but headroom is always cool. You could run only one side (stereo mode, not bridged) and do just fine. How many watts is your cab? One side into 8 ohms is only 250 watts, or 425 into 4 ohms.

I think the 1400i is a very good amp. It's got a lot of protection circuits (4 I think!) to keep me from frying it, 1400 watts into 4 ohms bridged :D , and a thru XLR out to run DI to the board.

5. wiermabj

Jun 4, 2002
    Westminster, MD
    I'm still trying to sell my guitar gear so the only thing I have that'll be used for the bass rig is my Shure Wireless system, Furman SPL-8, and the Mackie. Any idea on a moderately priced preamp for rock, classic rock but is flexible enough to do a little of everything? What about the Eden 100 Navigator? I've seen them used for about $500.

6. mpapi

Sep 9, 2001
    Hamilton, NJ
    wiermabj -