Using soundforge 5

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by BryLMoo, Jul 9, 2004.

1. BryLMoo

Mar 25, 2004
    Charlotte, NC
    I'm trying my best to record my bass playing to mini disc, and then transfer it into soundforge to be molded. I'm not too good with the software yet, but i was wondering, can anyone tell me...or atleast give me some instruction on molding the sound to be listenable, and maybe even burnable to a cd for future listening?

Any help would be appreciated =)

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Could you describe your modus operandi, and what's going wrong?
    SF is pretty straightforward and you should be able to burn a CD from within SF.
  3. BryLMoo

Mar 25, 2004
    Charlotte, NC
    er, modus operandi? i find that SF is harder to deal with than most think. sure, it's easy to use, quick to understand...but to master? i'm just trying to find someone who can give me some pointers on getting the tone of my bass to sound good in SF...thats all.

i'm playing pretty mellow stuff, with some heavy riffs here and there. i think of my recordings, and playing as a way to relieve stress and relax.

i have a boss bass overdrive pedal that i use sometimes too.

any help? this time, in english please ;)

4. Tim Cole

Tim Cole

Jun 12, 2002
    Findlay, Ohio
    Moved to recording gear and equipment for more responses.

PS, I do the same, using soundforge 6. Just get your levels right, dump it in real time (obviously), and from there you can EQ and effect with plug-ins. Sorry my ansewer probably doesn't help much, I am not a great teacher.
  5. BryLMoo

Mar 25, 2004
    Charlotte, NC
    now, i know this has probably already been asked a MILLION times, but please bear with me. I am truly a novice.

How do I 'dump it in real time'?

Do i need some kind of adapter to plug my bass into the computer?