Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Using the thumb while fingerpicking

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by dumeril7, Dec 11, 2002.

1. dumeril7

dumeril7

Oct 21, 2002
    Austin, TX
    I'm curious how many others have developed a similar technique.

First, I should say that 99% of the time, I play with the usual index/middle technique and I've forced myself to develop that technique pretty well.

But when I was a guitarist, I became really enamored with Mark Knopfler who plays without a pick, using his thumb, index and middle fingers, claw-and-hammer style. He did this whether he was doing Travis picking stuff or playing lead lines. I practiced it and got it down very well and could play fast, single-note lead lines with or without a pick.

When I went back to bass, I found that I could play much faster and more accurately that way than the standard index/middle plucking. Like I said, most of the time I play with standard index/middle technique. But when it comes time to blow chops, out comes the thumb.

The advantages for me are: 1) I can give most guitarists a run for their money in the chops dept. for all that's worth; 2) I can mute very effectively with my right-hand palm; 3) I'm very well-positioned to throw in slap lines.

The disadvantages for me are: 1) you can't get the same kind of volume as with index/middle; 2) there's a tendency for tonal differences between thumb-plucked notes and finger-plucked notes so you have to work on that; and 3) other bassists look at you funny.

Anybody else play this way?

D7

2. Jontom

Jontom

Mar 11, 2002
    New York