V Shaped Bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by choo5, Jun 27, 2004.

1. choo5

Apr 15, 2004
    sydney, australia
    i was looking around at basses and lead guitars and im pretty new to the guitar / bass but why arent there any "Flying V" basses? is there something im missing? :bag:
  2. devain21to7

Jun 5, 2004
    Go to epiphone.com and look under basses , or go to music123.com and search epiphone basses and you'll find one. They come in only black if im correct and cost around 400-450$.
  3. Gibson made one back in the day, we're talking early eighties, but I rarely see them, even on ebay.
  4. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Well they're very uncomfortable instruments to play IMO. You can't sit with them unless you play them like a classical guitar, and then most people wont be able to reach the first frets. That could be one reason.

They're not very popular, never were. Gibson made them and the Explorer basses in the 80's. Pointy basses never REALLY caught on.
  5. The frontman from All American Rejects uses a flying V bass
  6. okay, has anyone ever seen a Flying V bass in 34' scale? :confused:
  7. Mudfuzz

Apr 3, 2004
    Yes, Ibanez made a few in the 70's [lawsuit era], warmoth [I'm not sure if they still do], I once saw a silver charvel, and I've seen one other with a zebra wood body but can't remember who made the thing. And John Entwistle had one in tommy.
  8. Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    I wouldn't mind a flying V bass. But, as pointed out, it'd be for standing/gigging only, not much of a lap bass. At the same time, the flying V guitars aren't lap guitars, either; so it seems like a non-issue to me.

I think it'd be a lot of fun to have a souped up flying V bass. If you made the body out of a heavy/dense wood (ovankol, walnut, bubinga, rosewood), and didn't have a huge headstock, you could probably even avoid neck dive.

Mmm... that'd make a fun 4 banger.
  9. Timbo

Jun 14, 2004