Valves for my Trace Elliot V4

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by VtypeV4, Mar 14, 2005.

1. Ok so rehearsing yesterday and all of a sudden, my amp cuts out so I peers through the grill to see 2 of my Ruby Tubes KT88s glowing like its going out of fashion. Concluding that they have expired, one now needs a suitable rplacement... There are loads of KT88 / 6550 variants available and im a little bogged down by it all... Obviously a quartet of NOS GEC KT88s would be nice but that isn't going to happen so any helpful suggestions would be nice... Cheers, Matt

Just for the record my V4 is a late one, almost identical in appearance to the V8 model. It has the overdrive and compressor facilities...
  2. I just put in some JJ Kt88s in my YBA200 and it sounds great, lots of punch and clean, but gets a nice gowl when you push the amp too. I heard that the Electro Harmonix KT88s are pretty good and they are about half the pice of the JJs but I have no experience with those tubes. I reccomend checking out
  3. Cheers... Damn Valves!
  4. MrBonex

Jan 2, 2004
    New Hampshire
    My amp tech likes those "Winged C" KT88s (Svetlanas?). I don't have 'em in my amp 'cause my Ruby's are still going strong (to the dismay of my amp tech!) -- I have a V6.

A lot of folks dismiss Rubys out of hand because they're Chinese, not Russian (or NOS). But I have to admit that mine have given me good service and great tone.

My other amp has GEC KT88s. They're worth more than the amp! But as much as I think they are God's own tubes, I would never shell out the buck to replace them.

I also think the EH and JJs would be good choices, too.
  5. mgmadian

Feb 4, 2002
    Austin, TX