Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Vancouverites - Good bass guitar teachers???

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by rabid_granny, Jun 27, 2002.

1. Hey, I'm looking for a bass guitar teacher. I live in Maple Ridge but I'm willing to travel if necessary.

I'm looking for a teacher who can teach left/right hand technique and music theory. I would like to start with blues and later move on to other styles, maybe funk or jazz. I'm looking at the $20 per half hour range.

I have been playing for about 7 years (started when I was 17) but have stagnated over the last 5 years. I know basic music theory but I don't have any formal bass guitar instruction.

Suggestions, number one?

2. Bump bump bump...

If possible, help out a brother...if I don't find a good bass teacher, I may have to...gulp...take guitar lessons. (My village is full of really kick-ass guitar players but NO BASS TEACHERS!!!)

3. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    Try PM'ing or e-mailing XavierG, he's in that area and if he doesn't teach (he SHOULD from what I've heard on his mp3's) he probably knows a good teacher.

4. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    Thanks for chipping in Nikki, and based on YOUR mp3 he posted a while back, he is an excellent teacher - and you're an excellent student as well! :D

5. Hey, cool. Thanks for the heads-up. I sent an email to him a couple of days ago and wasn't going to post something until he replied...well, that'll be a while.

NikkiG, I was wondering, where does he teach? I ask this 'cause I live in Maple Ridge (yes, the village out in the east). I also do martial arts so I have a limited evening schedule...

Can you give me some more information about his school?

Thanks.