1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Vegan Bass Bows and Hair.

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by pierce, May 11, 2006.

1. pierce

pierce freethinker

May 25, 2000
    San Francisco, Ca
    i am relatively new to double bass, and while i have been able to do some research, the specific answers i'm looking for continue to escape me.

i am looking for a cheap vegan bow. by vegan i mean that nothing that the bow was constructed with was done so at the expense of an animals comfort or well being. i have approximately $150 to spend, and i am looking to buy in the next month.

i like bob g.'s brazilwood bows, i believe they have a real leather grip, and possibly a bone tip, and therefore i am precluded from buying them. i am thinking that this leaves me with the glasser bows (i am assuming it has the leatherette grip as their website states). i am guessing the carbon fiber bow would be better than the fiberglass.

its pretty clear about how ppl on tb feel about synthetic hair, and i would probably agree, but my conviction towards animals holds sway.
    does anyone have any positive comments about synthetic hair (like hervex).

i would like to assume that the hair is collected humanely, and the animals are not taken advantage of just for a profit. however, i can find no evidence one way or the other. what i know so far , or at least what i have read, is that hair is mostly collected from living horses in various parts of the world, but is also taken from slaughterhouses in china. i would like to find out how the hair is taken from the living animals, AND if it is humanely done, if there is a way to discern that hair from the slaughterhouse strands.

can anyone shed any light on all of this, possibly with a personal experience, link, book reference, etc.

thanks

pierce