Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Velvet strings megathread part I

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by mic_j, Oct 25, 2000.

1. Apparently not...

18.5%
  2. Sure doesn't look like it

40.7%
  3. Nope

33.3%
  4. Nein!

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Nyet

3.7%
  6. Nay

3.7%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mic_j

mic_j

Oct 25, 2000
    Howdy

I play a 40's era Kay upright. At least I try to play it. The action is incredibly high and the strings are very unforgiving. Actually, I'm an electric player who wants to play upright. My question(s) is...has anyone out there tried Velvet Garbos? If so, what do you think of them? If you live in the U.S., where did you purchase them? How close to the $450.00us retail price did you pay for them? Would you recomend a different brand/maker for playing a percussive/slap style of bass? I'm a novice on a limited budget. I welcome any and all advice.

2. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    Hammond Ashley out in Seattle (http://www.bassviolins.com) sells the Velvets for about $350 a set (this is from memory).

For slapping, I used to use Spirocore E and A (steel) and Golden Spiral (gut wrapped in nylon) D and G, this is about $150 for all four strings. Cheapest all gut set I know of is the Labella set, about $200.

I buy all my strings online because no local dealers will give the 50% discounts that the mail order vendors offer.

High action is easy to deal with, lower the bridge, replane the fingerboard if you need to and you're done. A good repairman should be able to do this for under $100. Keep in mind for slapping you'll want higher action than if you're trying to play like Ron Carter.