1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Venturing into short scale

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by B-Bassic, Apr 12, 2010.

1. Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new here so apologies if this is in the wrong place. I don't think it is.

Anyway, I'm thinking about picking up my first short scale bass (one of the Ibanez Artcore series) but I've been told some horror stories by a friend of mine which has made me slightly apprehensive.

I'm planning on heading down to my local music store before parting with any cash to get my own take on it but I wondered if any of you guys have had any experiences with short scale, good or bad.

Cheers,

2. Cannabass

Cannabass

Jan 22, 2010
    i have no experience with short scale but get a mustang instead :D

3. TomB

TomB Supporting Member

Aug 24, 2007
    Vermont
    What's the problem you're expecting?

Short-scale is nothing new. It has unique tonal qualities, and if they're what you want, you won't find it easily in a longer scale. What's the harm in trying it?

4. First will you tell us all what are the "horror stories" you heard about shortscales basses ?????

There are lots and lots of shortscale basses , and there are different scales within the shorscale area , ie from ultra short scale 25 inch to medium scale 32 inch,,generally short scale is around 30 inch.

Most shortscale basses sound slightly different to the standard scale , some like the difference and some dont.

Heres a link to huge thread about short scale basses http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=379257&highlight=short+scale+club

I have a number of short scale basses , i use them cause i have some back problems and my hands are slightly too small for standard scale ,,,so i find shortscale more comfortable .

I really enjoy my squier bronco , really cheap and under rated , i also have a fender p bass jnr and i want to get a ibanez GSRM20.