1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Versatile bass around 350 euros?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Wojt3q, Jan 4, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Wojt3q

Wojt3q

Oct 30, 2015
    Hi! I'm actually a guitarist and looking for a bass guitar for my home studio. Since I'm not a bass player, I don't really want to buy hi-end bass, that's why I prefer sth rather inexpensive - I can spend around 350 euros.

I don't have much experience with bass (this will be my second one) and I still don't have any particular tonal preferences, that's why I would like to purchase something versatile with wide variety of tonal options. The bass is going to he used in almost everything - rock, funk, jazz, electronic music, solo bass stuff etc.

Oh, and considering the fact that I'm European, I would like to get something which is accessible in Europe - I'd like to try the bass before I get it. I think I prefer used ones - better quality to price ratio ;)

I did some research and I found few basses which are associated with word "versatile". Some of them are: Ibanez ATK200, Squier jazz basses, Vintage branded guitars, Cort gb74, Ibanez Btb, Ibanez SR, Yamaha Rbx... Some people mention StingRay copies, but some describe them as one trick pony.

Thank you for dropping in here!

2. SpazzTheBassist

SpazzTheBassist

Jun 20, 2006
    I highly recommend the Yamaha TRBX -300 series in that price range (the two on the left)

TBRX_group.

Vinny_G and LamarKafka like this.
  3. Wojt3q

Wojt3q

Oct 30, 2015
    Thank you for response. I like the red one!:)

4. DigitalMan

DigitalMan Wikipedia often mistakes my opinions for fact Supporting Member

Nov 30, 2011