1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Versatile Cabinet upgrade?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jomcc26, Mar 6, 2013.

1. Hey all, I am looking for suggestions on cabinets.
    I'm mostly a hobbyist, who will probably never play big shows, or play out all that often, but I'm looking to plan out my upgrades to a higher quality/last a good long time rig in the "moderate" price range.

I'm looking for versatility. As a hobbyist, I like the idea of being able to get different sounds as I learn and play different styles. I currently play a GK BL600 to the BLXII 4x10, but am looking to upgrade to maybe a better GK, Aguilar Tonehammer, or other similar head with nice modern sound at 300-500 watts. I am looking for cabs that would play nice with those tones, and also give me a nice ampeggish vibe with a VT Bass (next on the GAS list)

I'm thinking a pair of 2x10s would be nice, with appropriate wattage that I could run them either together or one at a time depending on the situation. Price wise, I'm thinking $600 or less each.

So far i'm looking at Avatar, and wondering if the Ampeg Portaflex cab or miniSVT cab meet the "quality/price" requirements.

Thoughts? Suggestions?
    Once again, just looking for help to narrow it down a bit!

2. basscooker

basscooker Commercial User

Apr 11, 2010
    cincy ky
    Owner, Chopshopamps.com
    genz benz isn't on the list. sorry i know you're trying to narrow the choices down, not increase, but you should consider their stuff, too.

3. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups