Versatile PJ pickup set?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by elmasodoacro, Jun 25, 2018.

1. elmasodoacro

elmasodoacro

Jun 25, 2018
    Hi!
    I'm new here, as a former guitarist but now with a Squier PJ bass lent by my sister, she can't use it because her studies, so I wanted to learn some about it.
    But as a guitarist I'm really used to upgrade everything as projects, and I want to do that to this bass.
    So, which set do you recommend me? I'm stuck with things from alternative metal (deftones, breaking benjamin, tool) to synthpop and post-punk. I don't like the sound of any active pickups, besides the price, neither ceramics.
    Thanks in advance!

2. sikamikanico

sikamikanico

Mar 17, 2004
    Welcome to TB (and to the bass side of music in general)!

For a project, but not much money, I'd recommend a Wilde PJ set, these are authentic Bill Lawence pickups. If you don't mind going used, this opens things up a bit to other classic makers, like Seymour Duncan, DiMarzio, etc... Generally more classic designs are cheaper and more ubiquitous, but sound good, and are a great value... Also EMG came out with popular passive P and PJ pickups, signature Geezer Butler set, might be worth considering. There's a used set in the classifieds right now (no affiliation with the seller).

But frankly, whatever your budget is, I wouldn't spend a lot on pickups. For bass, strings are equally if not more important for sound. Yes, Squier pickups may seem weak, but often times they are more than adequate if you find the right strings, adjust your setup, and learn how to play it well. So if it makes you feel better to replace pickups, by all means do, but don't forget about strings, setup, and technique ;)

4StringTheorist and elmasodoacro like this.
  3. Iofflight

Iofflight Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2018
    I was going to suggest the Wilde PJ set as well.

4StringTheorist and elmasodoacro like this.
  4. elmasodoacro

elmasodoacro

Jun 25, 2018