Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Versatile rig for home/recording?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by LaXu, Mar 28, 2005.

1. LaXu

LaXu

Feb 2, 2005
    Finland
    I'm currently waiting for a 5-string bass to arrive, it'll be my first bass. Now I just need an amp or something. Basically I will be playing at home and recording, no live work (I'm a guitarist really..), not now or in the future so I don't need tons of power or massive cabs. I will be playing a wide range of styles from jazz to funk to rock and possibly a little bit of metal as well.

My budget at the moment is around 500€ max. I'm thinking I should either get some cheap amp head (Behringer BX3000T is in my mind) and cab - 1x15 or 2x10, whichever is better with a 5-string. A combo would be fine as well. Basically what I need is something that:

-Sounds good (planning to play without overdrive mostly).
    -Has versatile controls (don't need multiple channels or a 30 band EQ or anything like that though).
    -Works well with a 5-string bass.
    -Costs under 500 euros.

Alternatively I'm open to something that I can plug into my computer and use through that..I'm thinking of the Yamaha Magic Stomp Bass (haven't seen it for sale in Europe yet though). Then again I figure that a proper amp+cab will sound better than DI/amp modeler/whatever through computer speakers (Altec Lansing ATP3, 2 flat panel speakers and a subwoofer). Any thoughts on that?

2. LaXu

LaXu

Feb 2, 2005
    Finland
    I'm a bit sceptic about the Bass PODXT, I haven't liked any of the Line6 guitar stuff I've tried (though the PODXT was definitely the best of 'em) which includes pretty much anything from early Flextones to Vetta and Variax stuff..all sounded worse than my Yamaha DG80 combo (modeling amp from the late '90s, currently using it as a cab for a tube amp).