Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Very seriously need band advice, I'm in pain and miss my instrument

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Kosko, Mar 7, 2006.

1. Kosko

Kosko

Dec 12, 2005
    Buffalo
    In all sincerity I write this to the bass community which I’ve grown to know as people that experience similar events, are generally like minded, and have a love for bass. It seems you all may be the only people who can relate to my story and the only people who may give me honest advice.

So here it starts. I started playing bass about six years ago, for two main reasons, I thought guitar seemed so little and dainty, and I loved funk. I could wail away on this bigger instrument, slapping, pounding, popping and getting down right funky. Granted it took years before I could actually play some funky slap but that’s beyond the point.

So I’m in a band with some phenomenal musicians, I really feel honored to play with them. They are creative, funny, very talented and good people. It started out like the perfect band, funky, rocking, technically difficult, but fun music. I was writing my own bass lines, slapping, walking, rocking, etc, etc. But gradually the guitar player started writing classical music, very Bach-ish type music (16th note descending arpeggios with a counterpoint bass line). I didn’t really mind at first, because I thought this might be one our only fully instrumental pieces. But then the songs stopped coming, and the classical continued. After about 4 or 5 of these, the bass keeps getting written harder and harder, and I feel as though I have no say in the music anymore. I don’t have a chance to get funky anymore, and honestly it hurts. Like a part of me has been ripped away and put into storage, dormant until I take action of some form.