Victor Bailey's 'That's Right'

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by DaveBeny, Nov 20, 2001.

  1. DaveBeny


    Mar 22, 2000
    London, UK
    Am going to pick this up this afternoon, based upon the the Victor Bailey interview/article in this month's 'Bass Player' magazine.

    A review at

    Editorial Reviews
    As an original member of both Joe Zawinul's Zawinul Syndicate and Ramsey Lewis's Urban Knights, bassist Victor Bailey has played both contemporary jazz with a rock edge and R&B-laced jazz. On this nine-track disc, he straddles both worlds quite effectively. Besides a totally out-of-place and somewhat self-indulgent vocal piece titled "Where's Paco," this is a solid program of post-fusion music.

    The Parliament/Funkadelic medley of "(Not Just) Knee Deep" and "One Nation Under a Groove," and the catchy "Rope-a-Dope" are great examples of progressive 21st-century jazz-funk, while guitarist Dean Brown, and especially keyboardist Jim Beard--who's a revelation throughout the proceedings--shine brightly in blistering solos that emphasize the rock in jazz-rock fusion. Underrated reedman Bennie Maupin also appears on two tracks. He plays the kind of lines on his bass clarinet that he did with Herbie Hancock's Headhunters in the '70's on a hot tune he wrote called "Steamy," switching to tenor sax on the title track, which closes the album. Despite the firepower of his guests, Bailey's bass isn't overshadowed at all. --Mark Ruffin

    Sounds alright, doesn't it? Has anybody else got this yet?

  2. I was all psyched to buy it as it was supposed to be out last month. However, I found out it's only available as an import. If it isn't available any time soon locally, I'm really going to have to order it as an import.

    I just checked and I guess you're in England. Perhaps it's available there. (I think the album was made in Germany.) If you get it, please let us know what you think.
  3. JimK


    Dec 12, 1999
    I ordered my copy(DOMESTIC)from CDNow about a month ago? Still waiting...
  4. Bruce Lindfield

    Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

    I bought it this afternoon and have listened to it once through now.

    I went to my local Borders at lunchtime and read through Bass Player magazine and the interview/lesson/transcription convinced me that it would be worth buying.

    I do like VB's playing and his tone - there is some good stuff here for studying technique and I like the idea of a small jazz group lineup that plays funky stuff - it's what I would ideally like to do. I'm not sure about he vocal numbers though - don't think they work. But there is enough to make it worth buying IMO.

    I like his 16th - note fingerstyle funk and melodic solos best on the album.
  5. DaveBeny


    Mar 22, 2000
    London, UK
    Well, I bought my copy yesterday morning from the local HMV (the only copy they had). I was really looking forward to listening to it, but when I got back and opened the packaging, there was no CD inside! :mad:

    I went straight back and got a refund. I'll have to look out for another copy when I go home to Birmingham for the weekend.
  6. DaveBeny


    Mar 22, 2000
    London, UK
    Well, I've had the weekend to listen to the album. It's definately work getting. Some very strong tunes, especially the title track! Phew! :D Other highlights for me are 'Joey' and 'Black on the Bach'.

    My three gripes with the album are:
    1) The vocal tracks - 'Where's Paco?' and 'Rope-A-Dope'. Avoid.
    2) Some of the synth sounds make me cringe, especially on 'Knee Deep/One Nation'.
    3) The price - £16.99. :(