Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Video Vs. Teacher

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by A Rock, Jul 22, 2001.

1. A Rock

A Rock

Mar 18, 2001
    New Haven, CT
    i am a self tought bassist.
    and i feel i can learn things pretty fast.
    i was wondering whether it would be better to buy those instructional videos and save money or if it would be better to get lessons. i really want to learn how to play funk.

2. purple_haze

purple_haze

Jun 29, 2001
    London Town
    Teacher. Definately.

Unless you only specifically want to learn slap, in which case try "The Slap Bass Program", which is an instructional video by Alexis, Schlrevsky (sp?) which both my teacher and I thought was perfect.

(It might be a bit expensive though)

3. I would assume that a teacher would be much better because you can ask them questions, and they can hear you and answer you. And there's probably some other reasons that I can't think of now, but I don't really have experience with either.

4. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Most instructional videos don't deserve that name, inspirational videos might be a more appropriate term (at best).

One of the few exceptions is the aforementioned Slap Bass Program by Alexis Sklarevski.

5. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    I triple the vote on the slap bass program. That video is incredible - I thought it was hopeless for me to do any slap bass, and I can now play almost anything he does in that video. It's a great instructional tape if you really use it and put the practice in. Star licks video's have been useless to me for any playing skills, although there may be a few beginner tapes that might be helpful.