Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

VINTAGE BASS AMPLIFICATION

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by lowphatbass, Aug 10, 2005.

1. lowphatbass

lowphatbass ****

Feb 25, 2005
    west coast
    Anybody out there using bass amps and/or cabs from the 60's or 70's?? I sure don't see many around when I am out and about. From a player's standpoint 60's and 70's era basses are red hot right now yet the only vintage amps I ever see are the "flip top" Ampegs, and even that's getting to be a rarity.
    Now, I started playing in 1982 and feel fortunate that I never had to haul around some of the rigs from prior decades and I respect those of you who paid those "dues" for the rest of us. Not knowing, here's a few guesses as to why vintage bass amps aren't bieng played alot:

#1) The "vintage sound" that is so desirable is actually what we've heard on records, not live performances, and it's a product of the bass plugging right into the board, so a more modern, accurate bass amp actually comes closer to acheiving this sound?
    #2) The weight and size factor, our backs aren't what they used to be.
    #3) Could it be that amps from the 60's and 70's just sound bad??

You guys/gals with experience please chime in and give me your take on vintage bass amps. Those of you who are using them in any combination let me know what you're using and what it does for you.

2. jokerjkny

jokerjkny

Jan 19, 2002
    NY / NJ / PA
    '60s & '70s gear to me, includes the ol' SVT stalwarts, which are just as popular today as they were then.

3. Lonnybass

Lonnybass Supporting Member

Jul 19, 2000
    Minneapolis by way of Chicago
    Endorsing Artist: Pedulla Basses