1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

"Vintage" bassists! Been away for a while?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by BillMason, Aug 13, 2007.

1. BillMason

BillMason Supporting Member

Mar 6, 2007
    Who else is older (middle-aged and up) and has been away from playing for a long time, and is just getting back into it now?

I started in '82 at the age of 12, which makes me 37 now. I played all through middle school, and high school. Two years of taking music at university had me believing that I sucked so I kinda stopped around age 20-21, played for a few months with a group of guys when I was 29, and then stopped again when I had kids. I just started playing again when a buddy of mine, who plays acoustic and sings, started encouraging me to play with him and get some gigs. We've also recently added an electric guitar player and a drummer and are starting to do some heavier tunes.

Mostly what I play is improvised, I don't really try to copy an original artist's bassline. It's surprising how chops can be regained, and how little theory I have lost! If anything, my ear has improved *significantly* and I have a much more developed sense of taste in what I play than I ever had when I was younger.

I think it may be more fun now than it ever was!

2. QORC

QORC SUSPENDED

Aug 22, 2003
    Elberon, New Jersey
    I was away completely from it for my entire 30s. When I hit 40, I decided to take it up again. Hell, I hadn't even PLAYED the guitar in 10 years. Stuff was sitting in my basement. Looking back, I regret it, but I was married, doing other stuff and having kids. Anyway, I put out an ad, I bought better gear and 5 years later I'm playing regularly and better than I ever was.

3. tycobb73

tycobb73

Jul 23, 2006
    Grand Rapids MI