Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

vintage buyers how much would ya pay for this 76 jazz???

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by vene-nemesis, Oct 3, 2004.

1. vene-nemesis

vene-nemesis Banned

Jul 17, 2003
    Bilbao España
    this r the pics:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

the seller has the original parts but he says tha it didnt came with the bridge p-up cover.

2. My crystal ball sez: many of the replies you get will tell you to stay away from the 3-bolt neck. Personally I have a beautifully-mojoed '78 (w/ 3-bolt) and it's a great bass, just a bit less-desirable. Are you able to play it before you spend your $$$? I've played some of this era with necks that I've hated.

The bridge is certainly non-original. If it wasn't for the missing laquer around where the original bridge was I would worry about a refin body, but as I'm no expert I will leave this for others to comment on.

My rough guess on the price would be ~$1000.USD given what I've seen lately. Not a bargain unless you've played the instrument and love it!

3. vene-nemesis

vene-nemesis Banned

Jul 17, 2003
    Bilbao España
    thats a bad ass bridge with fender saddles, it comes with the original fender vintage (crap?) bridge, the seller is asking for 1550€ like $1800 (usd).

4. The price seems a bit high to me based on what I've seen locally, but geographic location is bound to inflate it. Have you had a chance to play it yet? As mentioned, you might not like the neck and you need to be prepared for the hum from those single coils. Still, the potential is there for it to sound great.

That much scratch ($$$) would make a nice downpayment on a Jerzy or buy that Valenti you've been lusting after!

5. ApeIsHigh81

ApeIsHigh81

Aug 24, 2004
    CA