1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Vintage Fender Bassman 50 ?'s

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by brotherdoc, Mar 19, 2009.

1. brotherdoc

brotherdoc

Oct 26, 2008
    Found this on Craigslist. I know they make a pretty good guitar amp, but how do these things do on bass? The price sound pretty sweet if it's the real deal and works. This is on my drive home from work.

What's the experts here say?

Fender Bassman 50 amp - $350
    Had it for the last 15 years or so but its from the 50's or 60's, works great. 50 watt tube amp "silver face" head with 2 x 15" speaker cabinet, original "Fender" speakers. the body is in fair shape but not perfect. Got it when i started playing bass, played guitar on it too, sounds great either way. Got a banjo now, dont need the amp anymore, wife says Im loud enough. Price is firm. Local pick-up only.

2. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Central Illinois, USA
    By the time they called it the "Bassman 50", it wasn't a great (nor, in my opinion a very good) bass amp, nor a decent guitar amp. The revered Bassmans for guitarists are generally the old 4x10 tweed covered combo Bassmans from the '50s, and for to a lesser extent the black-faced piggy-back 45 watt heads from the '60s.

The Bassman 50 had the power rating upped to 50 WRMS, still used a pair of 6L6 power tubes, but had a lot of changes in the other circuitry, especially the pre-amp that cleaned it up- exactly what guitarists don't want. These have the master volume control which SHOULD allow you to push the channel volume for some overdrive, but it's pretty lack luster.