1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Vintage Fender Jazz Bass F.A.Q.s

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by passionbass, Nov 15, 2010.

1. passionbass

passionbass

Nov 9, 2010
    Hi guys, Im new to vintage guitars.
    While im finding a pure passive bass sound, I tried several jazz basses from original to clones. Couldn't get anything i meant.

Until i found a 73 Fender Jazz Bass and got totally stick to it very much.
    No idea if I can find that kind of tone on any modern basses.
    BTW it's in a player's condition as its re-finished, re-fretted and changed fender original pickguard.

with original 70's case. priced about us$2.5k(Im in Malaysia).

So the questions is:
    1) Is it okay if I use this monster as my main axe from gigs, recordings, practices and all other stuff?
    2) Will these vintage basses like going to die one day after a good service of few years?!? (I do heard Myth like this)
    3) As I heard vintage stuff are meant to be keep in the glass or cases. Maybe some recordings, not to be taken out for gigs? Are they hard to take care in that condition?

actually I already confirm the purchase of this bass by the end of month, hope to get some advice from any guys of u who familiar with vintage guitars.

2. Spinal Tapper

Spinal Tapper

Nov 15, 2007
    Chicago
    1.) Of course! Use it as much as you'd like. Its your bass! I personally don't gig my 1962 Precision because it's too valuable, and here in the city, I can't take chances letting my eyes off of it for a short time in fear someone will steal it at a bar..that's just my own paranoia though. I will use it for rehearsals or studio work, no problem. If you're the type of person who plays rough biker bars, or have habits of losing stuff a lot, maybe keep it at home on gig-night.