Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Vintage G&L Parts ??

Discussion in 'G&L Bass Forum' started by 43% burnt, Mar 15, 2006.

1. 43% burnt

43% burnt an actor who wants to run the whole show

May 4, 2004
    Bridgeport, CT
    I've been looking to replace the knobs on my '83 L2000 for awhile now. The chome paint has been flaking off. It's almost completely gone on one of them. I contacted G&L and they said those knobs have been discontinued for many years. I've also checked a few local stores with no luck.

I'd like to get the same knobs, to keep it all original. Does anyone know any good vintage parts stores/websites that might be able to find these?

[​IMG]

2. bdgotoh

bdgotoh Supporting Member

Aug 6, 2002
    Pacific NW
    Sorry, I have been buying G&Ls and parts for over 6 years and I've NEVER seen a single one of those knobs for sale! Maybe you could check into getting them polished and rechromed? Probably not cheap, I'd guess.
    If you decide to change them out I'll buy them as-is!

3. CentralCoastBass

CentralCoastBass Supporting Member

Feb 4, 2004
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    National Reso-Phonic Guitars
    i have a 83 l-2000 that i bought without original knobs. i searched ebay for a few months with no luck. i was talkbass'n one night a few weeks ago, and i stumbled upon a thread where someone was thinking of buying an old l2k with a knob missing. a replyer offered to sell him and original knob. i asked him if he had 3 knobs for my bass and he did! i had to wait a week to see if the original poster actually needed the knob, but apparently he didn't buy the bass. i felt like i won the lottery when i paid only 10 dollars for the set of three!!! they are in great shape too. right place, right time. good luck.

4. Templar

Templar Supporting Member

What a lucky find. Those things are virtually impossible to locate.

5. 43% burnt

May 4, 2004