Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

vintage gear preamp

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Pesticle, Feb 6, 2003.

1. I recently got a Acoustic 150 along with its Acoustic 105 4x12 cab.(1970s) Its a wonderful piece of equipment (so clean!) but it does lack alot of tone possibilities. (only a 2 bander) I was wondering what i should get for it to improve the tonal range of it, while still keeping my sound uncolored. Would getting a mxr m-80 or sanamp be the best bet? Or should i get something like the yamaha ne-1 parametric eq box. or something different all together? Or i could hold off on that and get a Behringer Composer Pro for $100 or so. Can anyone describe what a good compression unit will create in my rig? (i know what compression is, but i have no experience with a good rack unit) thanks to anyone who helps

2. ohhh..

forgot to mention... i only have about 140 dollars

3. watspan

watspan Supporting Member

Nov 25, 2002
    madison, wi
    i have an original 1974 Acoustic 140 haed and the 106 2-15" bottom. I agree that tone shaping is limited. I've used a 7 band eq pedal to "scoop" the mids. I have a Yamaha NE-1, but i've never tried it on the old Acoustic--i'll give it a try tonight and let you know what i think.

ps--isn't that amp a guitar amp, not bass?

4. watspan

watspan Supporting Member

Nov 25, 2002
    madison, wi
    Finally got around to using the Yamaha NE-1 through the Acoustic 140/106 amp (used the '74 P-Bass to keep vintage!) Net effect is it didn't change the overall sound/tonal range much. I think a graphic eq would give more flexability, but I don't think even w/ that you can vary the tone of these much--they are what they are!